Fire Emblem Engage: Difficulty Settings & Modes



Fire Emblem Engage offers three levels of difficulty. After selecting the difficulty, you will be struck with two different modes which enable the permadeath system.

Key Highlights

  • There are three difficulty levels in Fire Emblem Engage
  • There are two game modes in the game
  • The only difference modes make in-game is the Permadeath System
  • The difficulty level can be changed in Somniel home base in your room by interacting with the bed.
  • You can only lower the difficulty. To increase it, you must start afresh.

Difficulty Levels In Fire Emblem Engage

Fire Emblem Engage Difficulty Levels
Difficulty Levels in Fire Emblem Engage – (Image by eXputer)

Every difficulty level offers a different type of experience for players to engage with. The players interested in the story will probably choose the easiest one possible. However, if you are ready to take on a challenge, the maddening level might just be for you.


The easiest difficulty of all for new and intermediate players. Even if you are an experienced player but don’t want to overcome the challenging and complex gameplay, this is the right choice. Even the complex gameplay will be simplified just to give you an engaging story.

Recommended if you want to progress through the story easily.


Still, want the gameplay? Hard difficulty increases the combat aspect for you to engage more in gameplay. With an increased number of enemies, the combat goes on for more time. It also increases the stats of enemies and limits the rewind charges to 10 to give intense gameplay.

Recommended for players who are already familiar with the basics of the game.


As the name suggests, Maddening difficulty increases everything included in the Hard difficulty. Moreover, you can’t save progress during the battle, some enemies will receive skills, and even some tutorials are skipped; truly a mad thing to do. It is also difficult to gain experience and level up.

Recommended for advanced players who have completed the game and want to experience the game on relentless difficulty.

How To Change Difficulty Settings In Fire Emblem Engage

between game Changing Difficulty Settings
Changing difficulty settings between progression – (Image by eXputer)

You must complete Chapter 3: Hostilities to get access to the Somniel, where you will also find your room. Upon heading to that room and interacting with the bed, you will have the option to change your difficulty settings.

However, there are some restrictions where you can only lower your difficulty. This is the only time you can lower your difficulty in the middle of the progression. Be very sure of it, as you will have to start the game over again to select your preferred difficulty settings.

Modes In Fire Emblem Engage

Fire Emblem Engage Two Modes
Selecting Modes in Fire Emblem Engage – (Image by eXputer)

While selecting your character and filling up some detail, you will be struck with two different modes you can start your game with.

Casual Mode

If any of your comrades die, they will return in the next battle in Casual Mode. Meaning you will not lose manpower during your progression of the game, which makes the game easy. You will not even have to strategize your every move, as it’s not a big deal if you lose your comrade.

Recommended for players who just want casual gameplay.

Classic Mode

Wants to spice things up a bit? Classic Mode adds a permadeath system. If any of your comrades die, he dies forever. You can’t revive your comrade and that leaves you with the only option, which is to replace the unit.

With a permadeath system, even Normal difficulty may seem difficult. If you lose even one unit, your whole team can become imbalanced and fall. Worse, if you lose your main fighter or healer.

Recommended for players who are best at strategizing, as you will lose your comrade even if you make one mistake.


Overall, the difficulty in Fire Emblem Engage matters in the selection of difficulty levels and modes. However, if you’re new and done selecting the difficulty level, you might want to read about Alear, who is the main character, including his/her class, stats, and weapons. Find more about the Bond Rings, which will provide various stat benefits to help you throughout your journey.

Moreover, Etie, from the Fire Emblem Heroes, is also featured in the game and is helpful against aerial enemies. However, for now, that’s it on our guide on Fire Emblem Engage: Difficulty Settings & Modes.


Was this article helpful?

Thanks! Do share your feedback with us. ⚡

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. ✍

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here